27 January 2013 Bulletin Preview

Third Sunday after Epiphany

The Word of God for the People of God.
Thanks be to God.

THE SERMON

“When Prayers Go Unanswered”        –     Rev. David Raiford

OLD TESTAMENT LESSON

Psalm 22:1-8, King James Version (KJV)

22 My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? why art thou so far from helping me, and from the words of my roaring?

O my God, I cry in the day time, but thou hearest not; and in the night season, and am not silent.

But thou art holy, O thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel.

Our fathers trusted in thee: they trusted, and thou didst deliver them.

They cried unto thee, and were delivered: they trusted in thee, and were not confounded.

But I am a worm, and no man; a reproach of men, and despised of the people.

All they that see me laugh me to scorn: they shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying,

He trusted on the Lord that he would deliver him: let him deliver him, seeing he delighted in him.

GOSPEL LESSON John 15:7, Luke 22:39-42

John 15:7, King James Version (KJV)

If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.

Luke 22:39-42, King James Version (KJV)

39 And he came out, and went, as he was wont, to the mount of Olives; and his disciples also followed him.

40 And when he was at the place, he said unto them, Pray that ye enter not into temptation.

41 And he was withdrawn from them about a stone’s cast, and kneeled down, and prayed,

42 Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.

Bulletin for Sunday, 27 January 2013

Leave a Reply

